You are here

About Us

The Alaska Center for Unmanned Aircraft Systems Integration - RDT&E, or ACUSAI, was established in December 2012 by the University of Alaska Board of Regents in recognition of the importance and growth of the unmanned aircraft program. It was established under the University of Alaska Fairbanks in the Geophysical Institute where it originated but was given the role of leading all unmanned aircraft programs for the entire system. It was also tasked to pursue opportunities with the FAA such as the FAA test sites. The program originated in 2001, and over the years had expanded its scope, the equipment it operated, and the variety and complexity of research projects it executed. In 2013 ACUASI submitted its proposal to the FAA for one of the six test sites established by the 2012 FAA Modernization and Reform Act, and in December 2013 the FAA announced that the University had been selected. The Pan Pacific UAS Test Range Complex reports to the ACUASI, but also includes principal partners in Oregon and Hawaii as well as 56 non-state partners located all over the US and internationally. Ranges are located in the three states as well as in Iceland, our key international partner.

Our People

Role Name Email Phone
Director Marty Rogers mrogers@gi.alaska.edu 907-322-9913
Associate Director, Science and Education Dr. Michael Hatfield mchatfield@alaska.edu 907-455-2032
Associate Director, Research and Development Dr. Keith Cunningham kwcunningham@alaska.edu 907-455-2030
Associate Director, Policy Ro Bailey rbailey11@alaska.edu 907-455-2015
Associate Director, Development Barbara Johnson bjohnson@gi.alaska.edu 907-590-6426
Airspace Integration & Operations Leonard Ligon leonard.ligon@gi.alaska.edu 907-455-2013
Remote Sensing Specialist Eyal Saiet ejsaiet@alaska.edu 907-750-6555
General Manager Greg Foscue gfoscue@gi.alaska.edu 907-455-2014
Systems Integration & Engineering Sam Vanderwall s.vanderwaal@noremsol.com 907-455-2028
Maintenance Officer Peter Elstner pelstner@alaska.edu 907-455-2019

Partners


SNAP and ACUASI partner to share staff, expertise in GIS and data processing/management, office space and collaborations with researchers and customers of UAS data.